Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Thinking about purchasing Celestron AstroMaster LT 76AZ as first telescope... Is this a good choice?

I'm fairly new to Astronomy and stargazing, I have recently joined an Astronomy society within my local area. It was suggested to me that the Celestron AstroMaster LT 76AZ would be a good option for my first telescope.

Just wanted to get people's feedback on this suggestion and whether it would be a worthwhile purchase. It would be greatly appreciated if I could get some opinions of this telescope and also if there would be a better choice for myself.

Many thanks :smiley:

It's always difficult to recommend a scope as I think scope depends on personal circumstances and your interests. Will you need to transport to a dark site? Do you have a car etc or will you use in your garden? Can you try out some scopes at the astro soc?

Click on the first light optics link at the top of the page and go to telescopes and then beginner scopes. If I had £200 to spend on a first scope I would get the skyliner 150p dobsonian. I think that would be significantly better than the astro master lt 76az recommended to you.

Frankly no , that scope will be pretty poor . For beginners scopes look at the sponsors web store ( first light optics) there's a beginners section with a group of scopes at varying prices .

Also look through some scopes at the astro group and see and feel size weight and aperture for yourself . I agree with Sammy , the 6 inch is good value and show tons more than a 76mm .

The skywatcher heritage 130 table top dob is also a good value scope .