NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

planetary lens

I'm assuming that the SW is Skywatcher and it has a FL of 8mm. 

I have no personal experience with this brand of lens but I do have a Zhumell 3mm planetary lens. 

You should have no problem using this lens in those scopes. I'm not sure of the focal length of your OTA's, but an 8mm is pretty low and will start giving you some higher magnifications. If you are trying to use this eyepiece right off the bat, I suspect it is too high of magnification to find what you are trying view. 

Start with your lower power eyepieces first and after you get your target centered, then you can start using your higher mag EPs.

I have a 6mm TMB ii planetary EP, and whilst it is great for Jupiter and the moon, ie bright objects, i find it is not so good on the dimmer ones. If you align on Jupiter with a lower power EP, then pop in your planetary 8mm, you should see the benefit from it.

oh right thank you for your advice my scope wasn't new when I bought it and the lens was with it but like I said it didn't seem much use so I must be using it for looking at the wrong objects  I've a lot to learn to yet lol

An 8mm in your dob will produce a beautiful, crisp, clear, view of Jupiter at 150x magnification. You should see the banding and the GRS quite easily.

But I don't think your SW 8mm will deliver any where near as good a view as the TMB or BST eyepieces. They're about £45-£50 new,  maybe £30-£35 second hand.

I used a Baader Hyperion 8mm in my old 150P which was fabulous, but they're £95 new - you can pick them up second hand around £60-£65 in very good condition.

It might be worth checking collimation if your dob was purchased second hand - could make a difference. Hth :)