Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

My first pictures

entropia

I am a newbie and I just started using the telescope a couple of weeks ago (although most of the days were cloudy). Since yesterday was the first clear night after a week, I wanted to try to take pictures through the telescope. The first time I tied I got a picture of the Moon that looked like the Sun (with filter:). Since I don't have a filter yet, I decided to make one from a piece of film. The pictures are not great but they were my firsts he so I was really happy that they didn't look like the Sun anymore:) . I took them with my Cannon digital camera on a 20mm eyepiece. I tried to frame the Moon but it was hard (and cold) but I guess with an eyepiece with a  wider field of view this would be easier to do? I wanted to take more pictures tonight but it is really cloudy :( .   

post-33627-0-47486300-1387222500_thumb.j

post-33627-0-81993200-1387222531_thumb.j

Well a cracking start. I luke the second one, as it looks sharper to me.

Is it a dalr camera you are screwing onto an eye piece, or a camera you are just holding over the eye piece?

Cloud is one of the many irritations in this hobby :)

James

That's a good start! You can clearly see Copernicus and Tyco and their ejecta rays, all the Mare and Sinus Iridum. Well done.

You do realise that you will have many more cloudy nights now that you have got your scope don't you? :wink:  They never include that in the manuals: Once you have bought your scope the weather will take an immediate and catastrophic turn for the worse. Except for the nights when you are busy in which case it will be the clearest night for months! :grin:

Keep up the good work.

Well a cracking start. I luke the second one, as it looks sharper to me.

Is it a dalr camera you are screwing onto an eye piece, or a camera you are just holding over the eye piece?

Cloud is one of the many irritations in this hobby :)

James