Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Pixinsight batch processing script and master flats/bias/dark

Hi

Still learning on pixinsight and I have some doubts on work flow:

I want to use the batch processing script together with master bias/dark/flat (instead of individual bias/dark/flat, a matter of going a bit quicker).

If one follow the tutorial

http://pixinsight.com/tutorials/master-frames/en.html

for making the masters, are they OK for use in the batch processing script as such or not?

My issue is related to the master frame calibration: In above tutorial, you calibrate the flats both substrating the bias and the dark (but you don´t substract the bias to the dark). So if you use such master in the batch processing script, does it recognized 1) the master flat is already calibrated on bias/dark (or will the batch processing repeat the process again) 2) the bias is not substracted in the dark (and it will do it) ?

Thanks for your help

Hi Erquy

I'm still learning myself, so can only report my experiences.  I've followed Harry's tutorials and found them very helpful, as I'm sure others will confirm, http://www.harrysastroshed.com/index.html.

I use a ccd and just add the bias (don't use darks), flats and lights into the Batch Preprocessing script and this carries out the calibration, registration and integration (if you specify).  The script will produce Masters of each bias, darks (if you use them) and flats if you tick the box and therefore no need to separately process them.

HTH

Barry

Hi