NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

refractor telescopes

Hello again. I've recently bought a 130 reflector telescope. Being a newbie I hear they are better for nebulae and galaxies and such but not as good for planets. That they don't produce sharper images as would a refracting scope would. Any tips on a cheaper refracting scope? I am not looking for anything fancy. My budget would be about 200. And if my girlfriend found out I spent that much I would probably be on the couch for a month lol. Is there anything that good and that cheap out there? I've been looking but not too sure since I just spent a fair amount on my reflector. And if I am gonna spend some bucks on a different scope I want to make darn sure it's exactly what I'm looking for for the price.

I would just stick with what you have got for a while and get to know how to get the best out of it. There are many different sorts of refractors, and very simplistically the chances are for £200 you won't get one which gives better performance than your reflector.

Most cheap refractors are achromatic, which means they suffer from chromatic aberration ie on planets you will see colour fringing around the planet which will rob it of some contrast. You would need to get a reasonable apo or long focal length achro to give you better performance. The latter may be a possibility but they can be more challenging to mount properly.

With your 130, make sure it is collimated well, and cooled properly and then spend plenty of time at the eyepiece. The detail will emerge as you train your eye and the moments of good seeing come and go.

Stu

Oh, and perhaps look at a better eyepiece or two for higher power. Something between x150 and x200 will give good performance on Jupiter for example. BST's or Vixen NOL's have good reputations

Stu