NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

My personal best night ever!

Ccolvin968

So this was my first real night out observing, not in the books or just checking out the moon. I Observed Venus at almost half full phase! Or what seemed to be half full. I'm still studying how Venus works and it's phases. I hopped around Caph, Ruchbah, Tsih, and Shedir as part of the constellation Cassiopeia. I also managed to add two more Messier objects to my list of seen. M-103 open cluster though faint, brighter stars still visible, and M-31. No real details could be distinguished, but small cigar like shape and bright bluefish yellow color seen. I also checked out NGC 457 (open cluster). Phi-1 Cassiopeaie (mag 5)and Phi-2 Cassiopeaie (mag 7) being the most obvious and faint other magnitude were visible throughout the night. I also Observed NGC281. At magnitude 7.3, much too faint to pull any details from the nebula. It was obviously a nebula, because it looked like a cloudy gray spot in my scope I couldn't focus on. I was also startled by a satellite flying through Cassiopeia along with a few other stray meteors. I'm probably gonna get back out there for a little bit and check out the moon tonight. The scope I have is a Celestron PowerSeeker 127EQ. I bought some extra eyepieces for it and am very happy I did. Sure, it's no huge special scope, but I'm happy with it so far. I'll just be even more excited when I have a bigger better scope! Clear skies!

Congratulations on beginning your journey.  Soon Orion will be available for you to wander around, and Cassiopeia has many, many wonders to explore as well.  You found NGC457 - did the Owl spread his wings for you?  With Halloween coming up, that is always a treat for the trick-or-treaters coming by the house.  I position the diagonal on the scope so that the image is upside down, and call it The Bat in consideration of the special night.