NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Skywatcher Skymax 127 help

Hi, I'm looking to buy the Skywatcher 127 GO-TO in the next few weeks and wondered if someone could recommend some good accessories I may need?

Will the Stock eyepieces be sufficient for planet viewing?

Do I need a dew shield? Filters?

I'm going to get a power tank to avoid batteries.

I'm relatively new to this so any help would be appreciated :)

You will almost certainly need a dew shield.

I'd leave additional eyepieces for the moment though.  You've got all winter to view Jupiter (and then Mars) and once you've got the feel of the scope you may have a better idea of what sort of eyepieces you'd like to add.  When the time comes, the Baader Classic Orthos look to be worth considering, but they're not for everyone, having quite short eye relief.

James

Hi JuanCT,

I can highly recommend this set up, it's a beauty!  :grin:  Excellent for observing the moon, planets and larger / brighter deep space objects.  Also a pretty good way to get into lunar / planetary imaging down the line of it takes your fancy.

As James said, dew shield is a sound investment, and means you'll be able to stay out that bit longer on the good nights!  I'd leave the filters for now, I've yet to come across any reviews of filters where the overwhelming majority of people are blown away by the difference any particular filter makes.  The only filter you might want to consider early on is a solar filter - enables you to view the sun in white light, which of course should not be tried without the correct filter in place - it's fascinating stuff for sure but I'd still recommend getting used to all the kit on night-targets before you go down this route.