Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Lost color after stacking in DSS

Hello mates!
I'm very new at this whole thing with astrophotography and processing (in general) and right now I have no idea of what I'm doing wrong, or not doing at all.

So a couple of weeks ago i tried to image m45 as I just love some of the pictures I've seen of it. Even though I had massive problems with fogging I got some pictures (no dark since I thought I was screwed..) I thought I'd try to process into something worthwhile. 

So a quick single image in photoshop to test turned out like this:

m45snabbredigering_zps627ae3d4.jpg

So after seeing that I felt a bit more inspired. But after stacking 5 images that seemed to have made it I got a much more washed out image. This is after a quick adjustment in levels and curves:

Autosave_zpsbebe4192.jpg

So where did the colors go? Did I do something wrong when stacking, is it the fog that might have sneaked in and ruined some of the stacked images or am I missing something in photoshop? As I said, I'm a total newb when it comes to all of this and have loooots to learn but havent found a answer to this on my own.

All help is very much appreciated! 

Hi Tobblerone, thats a great image for just a single sub :)

There are a couple things you could try:

First of all, try increasing saturation in DSS, this is not likely the problem but worth a try if all else fails. 

You say you made a quick adjustment in L+C. Have you tried more processing? If you have only applied say one curve and level stretch then you wont see what is hidden in the image. It looks like the nebulosity is there, you just need to pull out the colour. Try working on the image for a while and see if you get any more out of it. Use the histogram to your advantage, i have a feeling the reds and greens need dropped down or the blue pulled up.

You could also try a re-stack but make sure the frames you put into DSS show no fogging as they will affect the final image.