Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

EQ5 or Astrotrac for DSLR imaging ?

AshleyRoberts

Hi all,

As some of you may have already seen my previous thread im new to AP im currently looking for a suitable mount etc for me to get started with.

I have seen so many different types of mounts.

I have been looing at the EQ5 and the Astrotrac these seem somewhat more in my price range so im just asking what you lot think about these 

and if anyone uses them can u tell me what you think downfalls and benefits to this equiptment ?

I would prefer not to use a telescope to attach my DSLR to take images i wanna be able to take long exposures but at the same time have it well supported and be as still clear crips images as i can manage 

i have a Pentax K-7 standard 18-55mm lense 

50-500mm telephoto lense 

Standard tripod 

any toughts ??

regards

Ash 

http://www.wexphotographic.com/buy-sky-watcher-eq5-synscan-computerised-goto-equatorial-mount-and-tripod/p1017721?cm_mmc=googlebase-extension-_-astronomy-mounts-_-tripods-and-mounts-_-sky-watcher-eq5-synscan-computerised-goto-equatorial-mount-and-tripod_1017721&

http://www.astrotrac.com/Default.aspx?p=holiday-deal

Both are valid options, albeit for different purposes.

The EQ5 isn't what I'd call portable, it's a great mount for observing and only ok-ish for imaging.  Most people would go for the better HEQ5, which has higher resolution gearing and motors, can carry more load and can be autoguided.

The Astrotrac option is very portable, will track MUCH better than an unguided (H)EQ5 and will happily carry the majority of camera and lens combinations but unless you go for the big (and expensive) Travel System you won't be able to add a telescope to it for longer focal lengths.