NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Astrophotography Christmas Gift

Hi All, I currently own a Skywatcher Skyliner 200p Dobsonian which I use for my visual interest when the heavens open up over the Midlands.

However I am an avid photographer and I would love to get a piece of kit which will let me combine my two interests of photography and astronomy.

After reading a few posts on this forum and a few different articles I have come to the conclusion that the mount/tripod is your number one priority when buying equipment for astrophotography. I also understand I then need to choose what type of photography which I would be more interested in DSO rather than planets.

So I’ve decided I am going to treat myself this Christmas. I am lucky to have a job which lets me support my hobby so I have a budget of around £2000. This I hope would get me a pretty decent amateur setup which will last me a few years.

Before we get into choosing the telescope and mount I would also like to tell you I have a canon 50D which I will be using as the main camera for a while.

So doing a little research from my newbie experience I would of gone for something like the

Skywatcher NEQ6 PRO Synscan - £959.00
Skywatcher Explorer 190MN DS-PRO - £995.00

First optics does a deal on this for just under 2k - http://www.firstlightoptics.com/pro-series/skywatcher-190mn-neq6-pro.html  I believe the f/5.3 aperture gives me a fast image.

My question to all you Astronomy Santa’s is this a good setup would anyone recommend anything else which they may think would be more suitable for my budget?? 

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply