NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Photoshop Astronomy second edition R. Scott Ireland - a detailed review

m37

I've read through this book and am now working through it again in more detail so I thought I would share some thoughts about content and how effective the book is. It's £42 plus postage so it's not super cheap but I thought my imaging rig is pushing £1k and Photoshop currently retails at nearly £500 so in the grand scheme of things I thought it was worth a punt. Also there are nearly 4Gb of example and tutorial images included on a DVD.

It's worth saying now that I highly recommend this book as it covers so much and in such detail I fail to see how anyone can not take something useful away from it. I used to be a designer and although I'm fairly rusty in Photoshop the basics were still useful. I think it gives a really thorough knowledge of the techniques from basic to very advanced, how they apply to AP, and most importantly (to me at least) why you are doing what you are doing.

• 310 pages (contents to index)
  • 215 x 280 x 15 mm dimensions
  • heavy, quality, solid feeling book. nicely printed and typeset. paper is a bit shiny for my liking but it is good heavy grade and is very much like the stock used in a lot of top-end educational textbooks.
  • Font is nicely spaced and bold enough to give good contrast. Line spacing is very nice and has a little breathing room which I like.
  • Bullets, lists and sub clauses are all laid out well and consistently giving an overall effect that is very easy on the eye
  • Images are all grayscale but the DVD contains colour.