NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Fundamental question

Hi, being a complete beginner to imaging, I have a very basic question. I read somewhere that the only stupid question is the one that's never asked so here goes. When a camera is attached to a telescope both the camera lens and the telescope eyepiece are removed, so where does any magnification come from, or is it only in the image enlargement. (Bet all beginners think about this but are too embarrassed to ask).

Firstly, there's no such thing of a stupid question on here !, if it wasn't for all the learned folk on here I wouldn't have been able to achieve what I have

so far.

The telescope you attach your camera to acts as a lense, so, depending on things like scope appeture, focal length etc. this determines what magnification is achieved with your imaging set-up.

What scope/cam are you using ?

Lee

There is no magnification in that way. The telescop basically is a huge "camera lens".

Let's say, you have a canon dslr with a kit lens 18-55mm. When you take off this lens, and put on let's say a skywatcher explorer 200p (1000mm), then you basically put on a 1000mm lens with manual focus and a very long "minimum focus distance". :)

To calculate the field of view with a given camera and a telescope, you can use this link:

http://www.12dstring.me.uk/fov.htm

All what mentioned above is correct, and indeed connecting the lensless camera to the scope, instead of the eyepiece, will result in projecting the image of the entire FOV, captured by the apperture, onto the CCD at the focal plane.

However, remember that attaching a camera WITH the lens to a telescope WITH or without the ocular IS possible and can easily be experimented with suitable adaptors......