Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Short optical path diagonal

I'm new to astronomy and have a celestron c8. I fitted a feather touch focuser 2", followed by a televue diagonal. All works well until a fit a celestron reducer and then I run out of focus. If I fit the original celestron diagonal then I can just about reach focus. I've been looking for short optical path diagonals, but find it difficult to find their optical path length. The Williams Optics 2" quartz seems good and has a short optical path. But the Revelation quartz is apparently better value, but I cannot find its optical path length . Does anyone have one and can tell me. Or is there a better solution to my problem.

Hi Chris

I use a C8 and I have the Revelation 2" SCT quartz diagonal. I do not know the optical path, yet unlike the televue diagonal it does not require the addition of a visual back, as it connects directly to the optical drawtube, so therefore is quite short.

I replaced the stock focuser with a feather touch micro focuser, rather than the 2" focuser that you have, that attaches to the diagonal. In this circumstance, when I use the celeston reducer, I have experienced no problems in achieving focus.

I expect that others will comment more specifically to your focuser type.

Hi all

Thanks Iain that's useful information.

Yes James it is for visual use as for photography I mount the camera on the focuser and don't use the diagonal.

One thing I forgot to mention is that my current Televue diagonal is 1 1/4" with a 2" - 1 1/4" adapter. All my eyepieces can be 2" or 1 1/4", so I thought it would be best to get a 2" diagonal for the better FOV.

Chris

Hi

Thanks, I did have a look this but was undecided. It doesn't give the same FOV as a true 2" and I couldn't find a UK supplier of the necessary adapters . I will have another look and add it to my short list, no pun intended.

Chris