Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

help please for a novice

hi everyone, sorry to be a pain but im very confussed about eyepieces. i am fairly new to star gazing having being bought a tasco scope some years back(i know they have a lot of bad press but it was a gift) my intention is to use this scope & then progress on to something better. the scope has been retrieved from my loft & reassmebled, at the moment i can only find a 4.5 eyepiece, a 1.5 erecting eyepiece & a 3 x barlow lens having lost the instructions im lost. having read about the poor lens quality of tasco scopes i was wondering what replacement eye pieces/star diagonal would be required to to turn a poor instrument into a reasonable tool. and what sort of images would i be able to see, the scope has a focal length of 700mm & d=60mm

any suggestions welcome as all i want to do is get out there & explore

thanks in advance

Hi Mr Snoops and welcome to SGL :)

I've no experience with your scope but if you would like some 1 to 1 help setting it up you'd be very welcome to join us at one of our sessions in your local area. East Mids Stargazers is a growing bunch of folks mainly from SGL that got together for regular observing sessions in the Leics/Notts/Derbys/Lincs area. We meet regularly at dark sites in Belper and Wymeswold.

If you'd like to pop down to the next meeting to get a feel for the group you'll find us quite helpful and friendly. Just click the EMS link in my signature for further details - leave a brief intro so the folks can say hi - and we'll soon have you up and running. :)