Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

HEQ5 Dec axis very stiff

stem1989

I've had my HEQ5 for around 3 months but only used it maybe 3 or 4 times due to weather, i don't bother using it if its looks patchy (i tend to use the EQ3-2).

Ever since getting it I have thought the dec axis is a little stiff...

for example if I am getting something in my finder with the clutches unlocked I find that moving in dec by hand isnt smooth at all, il push and nothing will happen and then all of a sudden it will jump quite a way.

Obviously the main issue is balancing, it takes a massive off balance for the dec to swing, making it very difficult to balance the dec axis.

Now having looked it seems I need to strip down and re-grease as they don't grease them very well in the factory, I've read the guide but is it an easy feat? I'm not very good with small parts, i tend to break things a lot when I mess with things. :D

Is there anything else it could be or is this likely a grease issue?

No issues with RA thankfully.

My HEQ5 was fairly stiff, when new. I sense this would have worn off with use (and did) - As the lubricant redistributed etc. I partly dismantled my mount... and came to slightly regret it. Although this is WELL documented by AstroBaby, some of the parts were a tad reluctant to seperate and once apart, fiddy to reassemble. One of the shafts proved particularly difficult to reinsert into a cone bearing, in situ? This Cat (Macavity) nearly "had kittens" at that point. :p

Moreover, I noted that one of the "end bolts" NOW works loose more easily and the backlash is significantly increased. I feel I am now obliged to re-strip it and "do it properly". Perhaps the old adage, "if it ain't broke, don't fix it?". As you say, balance is important. A heavier / bigger scope can (paradoxically) HELP when moving the thing manually - Or establishing this balance. :)

perhaps just minor adjustment of the dec worm gear