Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Best Apochromatic Refractor for the $$$$?

I have a budget of no more than $700 american for the OTA ,the field flattener and a t-ring for the dslr camera so with that budget what would you choose? I will only be using it to image not viewing and it must be under 11 pounds total weight for the mount i have.I'd like at least 400-500mm Many thanks.

It's a big ask it seems to me to get a scope, flattener and t ring for 700 dollars even in the usa where its cheaper the orion ed 80 probably comes closest to that but it only has a single speed focusser which is not ideal for photography although you would probably wish to motorise it anyway

Reflector or refractor....400mm is 16'' or thereabouts, that is a very big refractor.

Refractor is the way i'm going to go for sure BW i love good glass i'm a photographer first and foremost but realise a camera lens or at least what i have in that range is not going to cut it.It's a 80-400mm zoom with a teleconverter and lots of moving parts i don't want to deal with.

I see the Astro-Tech AT65EDQ has a field flattener built in and is only $599 here that would leave me enough for a guide scope and camera. The prices are slowly coming down there's so much competition but good for us!

Think were talking 400-500 mm focal length not aperture.

Its a big ask to get any apo at that price even second hand. If your using for astrophotography maybe a good achro would be a cosideration. Long focal length to avoid C/A.

I'm not an expert so someone feel free to correct me.

I have the AT65EDQ. It's a fantastic little scope. A little weighty for its size but I wouldn't swap it for the world.

It's in my weight limit for my mount do you have some examples you took with it? Does the built in flattener do a good job?