Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Best 2nd hand scope for under 200 nicker

I'm new to astronomy but am looking for my first scope and just wondered what peoples thoughts are on second hand scopes.

I have a budget of around £200 in mind so was considering a SW 90mm refractor or similar priced dob new but always after a bargain thought I would seek recommendations.

I primarily want something for planets and the brighter M objects. Something that will fit into the boot of a modest hatch back (Hyundai Getz), would prefer an eq mount. Also i have a toddler so some degree of build quality would be beneficial.

Top of my list is a Tal 2m or 100RS, though being a noob not sure if these would suit or if there should be anything else i should consider.

Also anything i should look out for when buying second hand?

Cheers, Ben (aka Jim) :)

Most scopes will fit in a getz, i have one and can get all my camping gear plus a 180 pro mak and the tal 100rs in for star parties. if you can get a tal 1p00 that would be my first choice but you will need a mount and with your budget you wll struggle, second choice would be a 150 skyliner dob or a 200 dob

for visual id say the 8" (200mm) dob. like the skywatcher skyliner 200p . you can get them at the £200 mark often with extras .

mmm, reading through again i dont know that youd get that in the boot .

I'm new to astronomy but am looking for my first scope and just wondered what peoples thoughts are on second hand scopes.

I have a budget of around £200 in mind so was considering a SW 90mm refractor or similar priced dob new but always after a bargain thought I would seek recommendations.

I primarily want something for planets and the brighter M objects. Something that will fit into the boot of a modest hatch back (Hyundai Getz), would prefer an eq mount. Also i have a toddler so some degree of build quality would be beneficial.