Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

TAL 200k or Celestron C8-s?

I am new to SGL so first things first - 'hello' :evil:

We (the family) are thinking of purchasing either a Celestron C8-s or a TAL Klevsov 200k. The aim is to have something a little more portable than our Orion (UK) Newtonian 10 inch, to take to our Observers Society meetings. We would like something that would be equally at home doing Astro photography and Observing.

Aside from the Tal’s optical and construction reputation (It probably requires more attention to what it is mounted on and I am familiar with Soviet era photography kit), and from what I have gleaned from a gent in Northern Ireland via email, I know nothing of the TAL’s reputation in the field. On the other hand, the Celestron product has a well documented pedigree, with plenty of information available on the web.

I would appreciate some feedback from SGL members on which scope , in their opinion, would give us most enjoyment.

:smiley:

Hi, and welcome to SGL!

I've got a C8 - the Nexstar fork mounted GPS version - and I really love it. Because of the fork mounts its heavier than an OTA, but I can lift and carry it around (and I'm only just over 5 foot and not very muscular!). But that is the price you pay for great mechanisms and a very easy to use set up. For visual it is great in Alt Az, and alignment is very quick and easy. For imaging, with the appropriate barlows and focal reducers, its a very flexible set up - last night I used mine to image the comet (with an f3.3 reducer and a CCD), then the Orion Nebula at native f10 with a DSLR, and then ended the night with a 2.5 barlow and a toucam on Mars! I'll be posting the results later.

For an idea of what an imager starting from scratch can achieve with a C8 then see Martin's for sale post (which is an amazing deal by the way!)

http://stargazerslounge.com/index.php/topic,18872.0.html