Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

M42- First image

M00NMonkey

Hi All,

I have posted this image somewhere else on this forum, but I thought I would post it here too as, the more I look at it, the prouder I feel. And it also shows whats possible for a complete Newbie with my set-up :)

3 Weeks ago, I had no scope, no dslr, no idea about AP or the workings of DSS or Photoshop/GIMP. But, now, here i find myself capturing images like this. (but I still dont have much knowledge on the whole DSS and GIMP software side of things, but I am enjoying the learning curve and I am in it for the long haul :) )

One thing I will say before I show the image is a MASSIVE THANK YOU to the MODS/FLO staff and all of you on SGL, without who's help, I would still be scratching my head about the F/ratio. You are all, in my mind, AWESOME!! :headbang: :headbang:

Ok, here it is:

M42 16/02/2013 (bad focus) 1st rushed attempt with new setup

20x80sec subs @ISO1600 + DARKS using BackyardEOS (BYE)

DSS/GIMP- processing

Any comments, tips, tricks, advice or criticisms welcome.

Clear Skies

Jez

p.s. I am trying my best to keep an up-to-date blog diary of my escapades which is linked in my signature

Good stuff! How are you getting on with backyardEOS?

thanks Mitchelin.

I am finding BYE really easy to use. You just fill in what shutter speed, ISO etc you want and the number of subs (you can add separate settings and quantities i.e 5 x 80sec@iso1600 + 5 x 5sec@iso800 etc) and name what the subs are of and whether lights, darks etc and then click image and leave it to it. You can literally walk away and wait indoors if you wish, until it finishes the run of subs. the you do same for darks, bias etc

The only thing I am having trouble with it is, I can't seem to set the shutter speed to less than one second, even when I have selected bias. I need to set this to 1/4000sec as this is my cameras quickest shutter speed, but I am not sure how to do this using BYE. anyone any ideas?