SCT versus Dob (was David Hinds Great Service)

leehawkins

Total newbie here,

why is it the scope (CPC 1100 GPS XLT) that Trever got , only a 3rd of the size of a dobsonian sky-watcher 300P, what sets them apart, power, technology, what is it , price wise, what are you gaining and what are you losing, but spending more cash for, paying for, elaborate mounts, Each time more technology comes in on the Mount's/tripods are you diminishing actual seeing power of the scope, to keep in the same price range?

You mount a sky-watcher 300P on a nice technologically advanced mount, the price double/treble, is this the case, what are you paying the price for ?

You got lots of configurations of telescope, but what can you see more out of when you plonk it on the ground and point it to the night sky

Very confusing i recon :? a short ass CPC 1100 GPS XLT or a giant Sky-watcher 300p what one would give the best view

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

The Dob. is a large aperture small technology 'scope, the CPC1100 is a large aperture big technology 'scope.

The main difference is, you take both outside, plonk them down and look through them. One shows you random stars, the other shows you what you want to look at. The Dob. then allows all the stuff you are looking at to drift away, so when you go get your wife to see Saturn, its disppeared by the time she looks through the 'scope. The CPC will track things, making life easy.

Kaptain Klevtsov

The Dob. is a large aperture small technology 'scope, the CPC1100 is a large aperture big technology 'scope.

The main difference is, you take both outside, plonk them down and look through them. One shows you random stars, the other shows you what you want to look at. The Dob. then allows all the stuff you are looking at to drift away, so when you go get your wife to see Saturn, its disppeared by the time she looks through the 'scope. The CPC will track things, making life easy.

Kaptain Klevtsov