Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Advice on laser collimator, please.

Hi all,

Im a Noob here at SGL and have been gazing at the stars with the naked eye ever since I was a kid.

After reading through many, many post on here, there and everywhere, much umming and ahhing and decision making, I have just decided and ordered my first scope. :) and there was much cheering and rejoicing :)

A Skywatcher Explorer 200p Eq5

I am hoping it will turn up tomorrow, but will probably be Mon/Tues. Exciting stuff !!!

The reason for the post is that i need a bit of advice on what collimator to get?

I have read through posts on here and looked at youtube videos and decided i want a laser not cheshire, but i am hearing a lot of talk about the cheap lasers being rubbish.

I have pretty much blown my budget on the scope :) so i didn't want to spend much on a collimator.

there are ones advertised for between £40-£45 on FLO and other sites, but are these the cheap ones? as there are some much more expensive ones at £100-£200.

Any advice on a good lower end laser collimator that suits the SWE 200p?

Also, I have read a few post mentioning collimating the collimator?!?! Although i found nothing that went into depth explaining how and why. Any experts out there with some tips?

Thanks for reading and any help given. I look forward to becoming part of the community.

Clear skies and kind regards

M00NMonkey

Laser collimator`s are very good but get the best a cheap one could be misaligned even a good one may need to be aligned before use. Its better to get one you can align so that you know the collimator is right therefore when you do collimate your scope that will be right you can always do a star check after.