NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

New to Dobs: Questions please experts? :)

Hi all,

I have never used a dob before but I am very interested for visual - particularly the 250PX Truss Tube. On the other hand I am new to Dobs so thinking maybe go for the 200 first and a Telrad and see how I get on with them. Thoughts guys please?

My question is how do these things stay collimated when they have to be collapsed down all the time? Mine will be kept in the garage covered up.

Will these scopes work well with my TV Nagler EP's? With the stock focuser? Will I need to upgrade the focuser?

Since I am selling my CPC1100 for a C9.25 for Planetary and some DSO AP but still want my visual fix should I go for a 12 inch truss Dob instead? is it MUCH bigger? Whats the FOV like on a Dob?

Sorry for so many questions !!! :)

Kind regards, Steve

Choice between 8" and 10" comes down to cost & weight. Most of these are 1200mm focal length, so tubes are the same length, the 10" is a bit fatter & heavier. Not a huge difference in what can be seen between these but of course the 10" will have the edge. I suppose that's your call but if you could get to a retailer with a showroom that could help the decision.

Don't know how these scopes hold collimation when collapsed and then extended, I've heard conflicting opinions. I'd guess maybe a tweak may be needed.

The Nagler eyepiece is about as good as it gets with reflectors. I'm happy with stock focusers myself, most work well, but some folk are not happy and upgrade.

Many would say that a 12" Dob is the max for them, but again a trip to a retailer could help. Of course, at star parties you will see Dobs up to 20" plus, so much depends on what individuals find acceptable for lugging around.

Field of view with any scope can be found by dividing magnification into apparent field - Example, 1200 mm scope, 31mm Nagler, mag = 1200/31 = 39x, FOV = 82/39 = 2.1 degrees actual sky seen.

Regards, Ed.