SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Absolute beginner

Hello everyone,

Always been fascinated by what's up and out there, and have finally decided to invest some time and money into star gazing. (watching bbc last week kinda pushed me over the edge).

Any ways any info on what to buy and why would be a great help!

Got about £3000 to splash and i have been looking at the "Meade LX200acf 10" uhtc Telescope WO focusser.

I'm of average intelligence and am not put off by collumation and the set up of telescopes, but if the above scope is a bit too much then please let me know.

Take your time doing your homework before you purchase a scope. Different scopes are better for different things, take your time before deciding. Many people on here will give some great advice so dont rush into buying just yet.

Seriously, if I had 3k to spend and was starting from scratch I would also take my time. There is enough money there to get it pretty nice but first figure what you may want to capture, that maybe the hardest decision.

Thanks for the comments , i was pretty much thinking the same thing, some people may be trying to sell their product to me. Gonna take my time and study hard first.

The Meade's a nice scope but it is alt/az. For a beginner in AP it may be a bit too much to handle without a lot of frustration. For imaging an equatorial mount is the more appropriate solution or you'll be into wedge territory - and with your budget you can get a good solid and accurate one like the NEQ6 Pro - and pretty well choose which scope you want to put on it.