NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Someone please help looking to buy a good(ish) setup

Hi,

Prepare for a head ache as I no I've got one.....

I was hoping to get some advice I'm very new to this and have spent the last few weeks trolling websites and doing alot of research into different telescopes and ways of taking photos.

I was originally looking at getting a skywatcher 200p with dob mount.... (think thats correct).... but then the more I looked into it I found that alot of people said it wasn't the best option for taking pictures...

So my attention was then taken to the skywatcher explorer 200p which has an eq mount..... with what seems to be the same scope (again not sure if thats correct)....

After watching alot of videos etc and finding that you can get these with 'goto' tech I thought that would be a good idea as I assume that this mount would track what ever it is im viewing or trying to take pictures of?...... but do I have to find what I want to see first or will the telescope jus move to what I type in.....(probably a dumb question)

I noticed the price also seems to go from about 400 to 700 for a goto explorer 200p..... is it worth it....

I'm looking to use an slr as I want to take pictures of nebulae and planets is an slr the best way to go?.....(cost and quality).. any particular slr??..

I thought best to ask before I potentially waste a load of money on something that may not work or do What I am trying to achieve....

Would this be a good setup.... Skywatcher explorer 200p eq5 goto, with an slr with the right T clips etc and I was also going to get Celestron eyeopener eyepiece and filter set (which I beleive is adaptable with the telescope) and also all need software. ..

Or should I do something different.... Something more cost effective...

Given that set up, would it be possible to achieve good quality images of planets and nebulae.