Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Just starting, need advice

Having attended a couple of star parties and shops I would be gratefuil for anyones advice re the following

I am a beginner - not too young but hopefully not too old

I am looking for equipment that I can hopefully expand on as I get more involved

Would like something that rest of family (no children) could use easily so I think that this impies auto locating etc

Have budget of £1500 and will probably only use at home so does not need to be too portable

Any suggestions

Peter

Hi Peter and welcome to SGL :)

This is only one idea and there will be other suggestions - but with your budget an HEQ5 Pro would make a nice quick/easy to set up mount which is good enough for imaging if you progress that way in the future. For just observing and showing the familly stuff, an 8" newtonian like the SW 200PDS would be a very nice instrument that will show a lot of objects and that the mount will handle well.

This set up will only cost around £1k and leaves a healthy amount for any of the extras you'll need - there will be extras and you'll be surprised how quikcly £500 can disappear. If you move to imaging later - you'l be able to upgrade this very reasonably with guiding and autofocusing. Alternatively you may move to a refractor - there are many good ones the mount will support nicely. Hth :)

Hi Peter and welcome to SGL :)

This is only one idea and there will be other suggestions - but with your budget an HEQ5 Pro would make a nice quick/easy to set up mount which is good enough for imaging if you progress that way in the future. For just observing and showing the familly stuff, an 8" newtonian like the SW 200PDS would be a very nice instrument that will show a lot of objects and that the mount will handle well.