NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Logging what you've seen? How / what?

Cjg

So I've been stargazing for nearly two years - and my enthusiasm to just "see it" has meant that I've not bothered to record anything; there's always another weekend / evening to go stargazing right?

But with the Moore winter marathon, I've observed objects like Kemble's Cascade and NGC 1502, that I would not ordinarily have not bothered with and think it would probably be a good idea to have some record.

I have an old filofax cover that I could use, is there and established format for recording observations?

What are you guys using?

Thanks,

Chris

Not really, anything you think important to you or possibly anyone else.

What it is, date+time, your location as a minimum, scope being used. Area for notes for future reference, probably a big area as notes could be almost anything and extensive.

Search for astro software and see what is common to them all.

So I've been stargazing for nearly two years - and my enthusiasm to just "see it" has meant that I've not bothered to record anything; there's always another weekend / evening to go stargazing right?

But with the Moore winter marathon, I've observed objects like Kemble's Cascade and NGC 1502, that I would not ordinarily have not bothered with and think it would probably be a good idea to have some record.

I have an old filofax cover that I could use, is there and established format for recording observations?

What are you guys using?

Thanks,

Chris

Hi Chris,

This sounds just like a post i was thinking of posting today after last nights session.

I started the Moore Winter Marathon last night, and had to print the observation sheets off before starting to record my progress.

I like you have been doing this hobby for two years, and have taken no notes apart from a few observing reports here on SGL.