NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

a first for me

kamikaze1100

beautiful dark clear skies last night so i decided to get the scope out....

as i am a newbie i have no clue what i am doing and i'm at the very bottom of the learning curve but i did manage last night to view jupiter (a few times!) and orion's nebula which was pretty darn cool, i tried to see the andromeda galaxy as well but failed, i think it was more down to getting dewed upon at that point as i had been out for three-four hours by then!

oh yeah had a look at vega, but i really think i need to sort out the sticktion probs on my skyliner 200p, i have some silicone shock oil for my r/c car which i recon if i put just one spot on each of the 'pads' i recon will sort it!

so next on the list of things to do is to flock ma tooob and look into some better eyepieces :)

Sounds like a good night. :grin:

You may have seen M31 without actually knowing it. It doesn't look like most of the pictures you will see; just a grey smudge! It is only long exposure photographs that bring out the colour/structure. There is a thread on here somewhere about how to find it. I will see if I can find it later and post a link. But for now, back to work - lunch break over! :sad:

Clear skies.

yup it was a good night for it.... clear skies and minimal wind :)

i really don't think i did see andromeda, i was using skeye app on me phone so i knwe where to look for it but my finderscope was dewed right up and so was the secondary mirror at that point :(

i bought three rolls of that black flocking stuff to do the lining thang i will prolly do the draw tube as well and blacken the secondary mirror edges and then i just have to improve the stiction problem as it was quietly driving me up the wall trying to find stuff!