NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Orange Shade and Unusually bigger moon!

Hello. You might probably think that I'm stupid coz I asked this question. Well, I am very new to astronomy and I currently have a 50mm Ross London brass telescope.

Today evening I noticed that the moon was half visible and it was just above the horizon with an orange shade on it (usually this time the moon is somewhere between overhead and the horizon) and it was quite near. When I had the telescope pointed I took a few pictures but the pictures came out the usual lunar white!

Within a few hours the moon started going upwards fast, losing the orange colour and was becoming more and more smaller in size ( for comparision it went from O to o , it a bit smaller than usual today).

I was hoping for a possible explanation as such knowledge would only make me better at stargazing.

I am from Bangladesh

Thank you

Hi rizzi,

You have several questions so I'll do my best...

The Moon is brightly lit because sunlight is reflected off the surface of the Moon (The Moon has no light source of its own, it is only the light from the Sun bouncing off the lunar surface back towards Earth). The Orange colour of the Moon is because the light is travelling through the Earth's atmosphere and being refracted (rather like a ray of light is "bent" when passing through water or glass into the colours of the rainbow.)

Since the Moon is low on the horizon when you first see it rise, the light reflected towards you off the surface of the Moon has to pass through more of the Earth's atmosphere because it is at a shallow angle, so the light will be refracted more (towards the red colours), hence its slightly orange colour. As the Moon climbs higher in the sky, the angle the rays of reflected light coming from the Moon gets more direct, so we see them through less of the atmosphere, and consequently the refraction becomes less and they appear in their more natural 'lunar white' state.