NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

where to fit a Tel-Rad

You're almost certainly going to want it just to one side or the other of the focuser/finderscope cluster. Which one works best will depend on how your OTA is sitting in its rings, but one or the other side should work just right for you. Most likely you'll want it right by the finderscope, as presumably you have no trouble looking through that at the moment?

Well yes sometimes i do as you can tell im new to this and im sure im set up wrong ive sometimes got to rotate the tube to view objects as i cant look through eyepieces either there under or on top of the tube and i cant reach to look through them comfortably.

Actually, no, I wasn't clear enough. From your pic I'm suggesting you rotate the telescope in its rings 180 degrees, so the eyepiece points along the same line as the counterweight tube. This will make it much easier to use, and then you should find that putting the Telrad near the finderscope becomes easier.

I've been advised not to attach the Telrad permanently with the sticky pads as you might want to move it around. Attach using duct tape to just start with (lots, so it doesn't fall) and then use plastic cable ties. Some use bungees. Plus use the tape as well.

I'm sure someone will disagree with me!

I've yet to find the best postion for mine. With the finderguider and camera set up, I find there's not much space and it's awkward!

Alexx

What's actually needed is some sort of mounting device so a Telrad can be fitted to the finderscope shoe mount. Like a lot of people, I've got a red-dot finder that I use IN PLACE OF the finderscope, and it works best because the finderscope is removed and out of the way. There's an opportunity for an enterprising person to make a nice adaptor. *Cough* *FLO* *Cough*.

Put the ota horizontal. Unscrew the mounting plate for the finderscope and the back plate which will fall off in your hand.