Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

confused...confused...

Hi , I have had a lot of help on the site of late about what to use to get into imaging with my scope.

I have had a bit of conflicting advice ( well more confusing ) advice really. I am totally new to this. I have the celestron 11" edge hd ota from flo at an amazing price and would like to start to do a bit of imaging. I am not ready for dso's ...a long way off I expect, but would like to start on say the moon and a few planets.

What I do not want to do is waste my money. I have been a bit confused with chip size, pixel size and just really what is best to use. I have got the phillips web cam but wanted to move onto something slightly better bearing in mind this is an f10 scope. ( with no reducer for sale here yet ).

I have found a Boxed Atik 16IC-S colour and have found aStarlight Xpress HX516 CCD and also a Nova PLA-MX CCD Lunar/Planetary/Guide camera and even a orion starshoot OSC Deepspace imager. I believe these are a good buy if suitable because I can use them as a guider when I move on.

Celestron neximage5 is a possibility but I think it is a bit pricey for what it is. I was also told that is has certain limitations and small pixels...( I take it I wont be able to enlarge the image too much)...may be wrong...not sure !!!.

A canon eos 300d. It has been converted with a Baader ACF-1 filter. This allows for the capture of H-alpha and an improved IR response whilst still allowing the autofocus and canon lenses to operate normally. This is a major advantage of using the Baader rather than just removing the standard IR filter..

Are any of these better than my Phillips 880 flashed web cam and are any of these any good to start me off on the imaging side moon and some planets. If so do I need to use a barlow with them. my book is on the way (e.p.c)