Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Splitting stars?

allen g

Hiya, I'm no expert but I think that's when you split double stars; famous ones are the doubles epsilon lyrae, also mizar a and b.

Get yourself turn left at Orion, really good book shows you how to find and what these doubles look like.

There are a number of what appear to be single stars that are actually two or more stars in apparent close proximity. Some are binary pairs (or bigger multiples) and therefore physically related, whereas other we just see as multiple stars because they happen to line up when we look at them when in fact they may be many light years apart.

Splitting a double is being able to resolve the apparent single star into its component stars in your telescope so you can see a clear gap between them.

James

Most doubles are physically related, actually. Optical doubles are rarer.

"Splitting doubles" is just another term for observing double stars. It merits it's own term simply because a double is only classed as "observed" if the components are resolved, or "split." You can do this with any telescope.

What does it mean to split stars?

What appeared as a single star under low magnification is often a star which comes in pairs or trios under higher magnification. When you can see and recognise this difference, you have effectively, ‘split a star’.

What is the purpose?

There need not be any purpose in splitting a star, just as there need not be any necessary purpose in strolling through a forest at dawn or writing a poem, but we can highlight some of the more utilitarian reasons for undertaking such a pursuit:

• star systems are among the very few objects in the night sky to show you any real colour, in some cases majestically bright and vibrant. This gives the pursuit a rather pleasing aesthetic appeal.
  • tracking down these doubles gives you excellent practice in the art of star hopping and in reading and using star maps and charts.