Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

EQ6 Pro noise when slewing at fastest rate

SteveA

I’ve got a problem with excessive noise from my Eq6 Pro mount when slewing at the fastest rate. I’ve been using the mount without problems for about 18 months and it was just the other night during a session that I started to get the most awful noise from the mount. I had set the mount up in the normal way and had been taking some pictures over a period of about an hour and everything had seemed perfectly normal, and it was only when I tried to slew to a new target that I got the problem. I immediately shut the mount down and then powered up again, but the problem still persisted. Not wanting to wake the neighbours up with the noise and not wanting potentially damage he mount I was forced to pack up for the evening.

The following day I set the mount up on the tripod, no counter weights or scope and had a go trying to see if I could workout what the problem was….I guess I was hoping that the noise would have gone away…unfortunately it hadn’t. It’s a strange noise, more of a resonant vibration than a grinding noise, but its really loud and sounds serious ! I get broadly the same noise from both the Dec an RA axis when slewing at the fastest at rate although both of the axis seem to be moving OK. If I take the rate down from 8 to 7 on the controller, I get absolutely no noise what so ever.

Something somewhere has inevitably come adrift, I’m not really sure where to look am I going to have to strip the mount down or has anyone got any bright ideas ?

I just checked these and they seem OK and the retaining screws are tight. I made a disturbing discovery though...If I set the rate to 9 (for some reason I always assumed 8 was the highest), the noise is even worse and on the dec axis stops moving!...I'm convinced I'm going to have to strip the mount down !! :D

Does the noise appear only at the start and end of the slewing operation, or is it constant throughout the slew?