NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

EP choice, plan for no Barlow?

Hi guys

I used to be an electronics engineer and know that each time you add a connector into an audio chain (for instance) you lose roughly 0.5dB signal at each connector. So, is the same true when you start adding things like a Barlow? Is it better to have a 5 or 6 mm EP and no x2 or a 10mm and a x2? Or does it purely come down to optics quality?

I'm thinking of replacing the stock 10mm and also getting a 5 or 6mm, both Vixen NPL (or maybe BSTs depending on how much overtime I get on Thursday LOL).

Yes, you loose a little light but this is much less of an issue nowadays because the coatings on glass are very good. Historically light loss was a problem but today it's of little concern: probably on the order of 0.5 or 1% loss. Try stopping down the edge of your mirror to drop light throughput by 10%: bet you won't notice the image being dimmer. In fact, you may even see an increase in performance if you have a bad edge on the primary.