Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

M51 : Whirlpool Galaxy : 2nd Attempt

coxy322

Hey guys, what do you think of my second attempt at the Whirlpool.

Need to have another stab at processing to bring out some more of the colour. This is a total of 27 frames total 20.5Min Exp at 1600 ISO. No darks, no flats, no bias. Good seeing tonight eh!

7185378084_3c6de5082c_c.jpg

Hi, i recently bought a dobsonian 10" which i know is not great for imaging dso's.

I am an amateur and would love to hear some tips from you on finding m51 and how you got such a beautiful image!

Pretty good that :) Yes, it could do with more colour saturation. I gave my M51 a 20% increase in saturation in DSS. I find this amount works well with most things I've tried.

I was being hasty in getting that image uploaded - I was quite chuffed with the data when I got home last night so I could not resist a quick process.

I have stacked the RAWs this time, brought out more colour in processing in DSS before adjusting further in GIMP2. A much better image.

7189060668_b81362b569_c.jpg

24x 40 second @ ISO1600

1x 60 second @ ISO1600

2x 75 second @ ISO1600

No Darks

No Flats

No Bias

Stacked in Deep Sky Stacker

Processed in GIMP2 (windows)

Skywatcher 200P

Canon EOS 1100D

No guiding

Hi, i recently bought a dobsonian 10" which i know is not great for imaging dso's.

I am an amateur and would love to hear some tips from you on finding m51 and how you got such a beautiful image!

Hi,

M51 is easy to find as it is relatively close to the first star in the handle of the Big Dipper / Ursa Major. Install Stellarium if you have a Windows PC or search it in google. I use a Telrad for quickly and efficiently finding objects.