SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Help please - which 2" eyepiece?

Hello everyone! I'm just starting out and last night managed to get a few hours of clear skies for the first time with my CPC 800 and Baader Hyperion 24mm from FLO. Saw some amazing sights and in particular loved the globular clusters M3 and M13, and galaxies M81 and M82. However I'm now lusting after some more magnification, particularly so that I can see some more detail in the two lovely clusters. Which eyepiece would you recommend next? I've got a budget of about £100, and should mention that the skies near me are quite light polluted, so I guess I don't want too much magnification, right? Thanks for your advice!

Thanks Robin - I certainly did enjoy the Hyperion, so I probably will go with the 8mm you suggest. I'm a bit confused by something on the Baader information sheet for these EPs, which says that removing the forward 1.25in reducing lens group (which I have to do to expose the 2" barrel to fit into my 2" star diagonal) results in a longer focal length and wider FoV. So when I remove the 1.25in barrel, have I still got a 24mm eyepiece, or actually one with a longer focal length than the quoted one? ;)

I don't think it works with the 24mm as it does not have a lens set within the 1.25" barrel as the other Hyperions do. Removing that part with the other Hyperions gives something around a 22mm I think but it's not a terribly good quality eyepiece, or so I've seen reported.

as said cant do it with the 24mm all the others you can i have the 21mm remove the front part of elements gives me something like a 24mm and find the views great on and off axis, you can also add fine tunning rings which alter the focal lenth cost about a tenner each you simply screw these on and increase your power to suit very good