NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

How to use eyepieces/telescope

Shaoz

Hi All

I'm a newbie and I've just bought my Skywatcher 200p EQ5, so I'm inexperienced. I found the Orion nebula last night with a 25mm eyepiece and an Astronomik CLS filter, then decided to magnify it with a 10mm but the nebula and stars were still small. Please advice me on how to magnify what I'm seeing with eyepieces. Give me some tips, for example on how to view the Orion nebula clearly and bigger... e.g. what filters, eyepiece, etc to use. Sorry for the question but I'm still learning how to use my new telescope.

I will assume that the scope is f/6 giving a focal length of 1200mm.

The 10mm eyepiece will give 120x and the 25 will give 48x.

Both should give reasonable views of the nebula as it is effectively 1 degree across, twice the size of the moon. However looking at Wikipedia the whole of the nebula may be 1 deg whereas the central brighter part looks more like 1/4 of that, possibly a little less.

For more magnification there is only one route, a smaller focal length eyepiece, would not suggest a 5mm as it will not get too much use, a 7mm should be more useable. If you are in the UK then perhaps the BST 8mm but that is close to the 10mm and may not give the difference required.

I would suggest something other then a plossl, the eye relief at 7mm will be short and could be uncomfortable.

Next is the scope, have you collimated it? For decent performance the scope will need collimating at regular intervals.

Finally what are you expecting? People see highly processed hubble images and expect the same. The nebula will be small and it will be (in general) grey.:):eek:

A 32mm ep is the best for the Orion Nebula, can't imagine the Astronomik CLS filter would be much help as this is for photographic use, a UHC or OIII filter for visual use would be better, but I prefer unfiltered views on M42.