Skywatcher 150P

Hi guys,

After a bit of confusion (mainly on my part) I have got a Skywatcher Skyliner 150P. I intended to get a 200P but it all went a bit wrong (don't ask! :) ).

Anyway, this might be a very silly question, and if it is I apologise in advance.

Is there any particular eye piece or pieces that I can use with the 150P that will make it as good as if I had bought the telescope I actually meant to get?? ;)

(Sorry, as you can tell, I am a complete beginner! )

Chris

You won't be able to match the light gathering of the 200p however it is still a very capable scope. Are there EPs with the scope at the moment?

I am upgrading to a set of 8 and 25mm BST explorers, but as a beginner you will soon find your limiting factor on quality will be the sky conditions...

Enjoy your scope!

Ps: What was the confusion, although you'll have saved a fair few notes ;)

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Is there any particular eye piece or pieces that I can use with the 150P that will make it as good as if I had bought the telescope I actually meant to get?? ;)

Sorry but no eyepiece can do this.

Aperture is absolute for visual astronomy and even the finest eyepieces you can buy cannot make that much difference.

Regards Steve

Thanks for your prompt response ;)

I have just the 2 bog-standard 1.25" eyepieces it came with and I bought a light pollution filter.

Would you recommend any eye pieces to get the best out of the 150P?

What difference would a set of 8 and 25mm BST explorers make for instance.

It'd take me far too long to explain what the confusion was! lol

Hi,

I have the Skywatcher 150P, it is a capable scope for sure but you do need good conditions to get the most out of it (which I am sure can be said for most scopes!).

When the moon is up DSO are pretty much out of the question regardless of your EP (although I haven't tried a moon / LP filter just yet so this may mitigate a little)