Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

help on info on camera connecter please

Hi all i have a finepix s9500 camera and wanted to connect this to my telescope so i can take a photo of the moon,could you please tell me if this is possible? any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks, i just rang a telescope shop up and he says i can fit one but the camera be no good as the camera lens is big looking through a small lense, something like that,i stupidly went out and bought the camera today without asking around first,it wasnt that expensive but i thought i be able to least take a few photos through my telescope.i think i gonna have to sell it and buy another camera suitable.to be honest im new to astronomy and now realised i want to to astrophotgraphy but now know i bought the wrong telescope a 8inch dobsonian,its all bit complicated :-) apparently i need a motorized mount.i just thought i stick a camera on lens point it and something press click, job done but apparently its not as easy as that:-)

hi paul , all the different types of scope/camera/attatchments can be a little bewidering , the book "every photon counts" has saved many people on here lots of time and money ,

for deep sky pics you need a eq type mount, a motorised eq5 at least . to carry an 8" scope you will be looking at an neq6 around £850 ....these mounts track the objects you are imaging/viewing and compensate for the rotation of the earth .

alt/az mounts track objects but dont compensate for the earths rotation ..in any image of longer than a few seconds the object itself will start to "rotate"

dobs have same rotation problem

but both altaz and dobs can have really results with a webcam on the moon and planets :)

Hi all i have a finepix s9500 camera and wanted to connect this to my telescope so i can take a photo of the moon,could you please tell me if this is possible? any help is greatly appreciated.