Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Best collimator - if just one? Which 1?

Another collimating question....

If you could only buy one collimating tool what one would it be, for the whole process of aligning a newtonian?

P.s. considering its a F/5 and I have no experience with offsetting secondary.

Best all round collimator, for noobs?:p

Nice1.

I do have a cap with centred hole but I spend too much time fiddling and retrying and worrying about the accuracy, expecially the secondary mirror, as its quite fiddley to adjust. I want to reasure myself that while adjusting the primary mirror that the effort is not wasted due to error in the small secondary mirror, especially when i dont trust my own eye's accuracy.

To be sure its the best it can be without over fiddling and too many differences between the varied collimators. Thats really what I'm after.

thanx ppl.

PS. I did order a FLO premium but unfortunately they are out of stock.

PPS. the cheshire does both mirrors to an accurate degree, am i right?

Farpoint 1.25-inch Reflective Cheshire Collimator - Blue [Farpoint-FP260-1.25-Cheshire] - 26.56 : 365Astronomy: Discovery for every day!

does anyone know anything about the little Farpoint "cheshire" eyepeices? Never really seen one, or used anything like it....

Probably very good for the primary but can't really do secondary --> primary alignment. I think I might get one though, they look very nice.

One of these will do exactly the same job as the Farpoint job

Astro Engineering Astro Engineering Posh 1.25" dust plugs (AC756)

Beneath the sticker is a perfectly centered 2-3mm hole. I recommend the silver one as its nice and reflective.

One of these is the more complete tool though and will align both primary and secondary mirrors accurately.

First Light Optics - Cheshire Collimating Eyepiece

For me, it rather depends on the scope.