NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

newbie help VERY much needed

hi folks, ive had a nose through this newbie section and have seen people asking similar questions to mine but they generally seem to know more about astronomy than me so im a little lost... so here goes, and i apologise if im going over things that i dare say have been asked a thousand times before...

i am a total and utter newbie, and know nothing at all about astronomy and need some advice on which first telescope and whatever else i may need.

i obviously want to spend as little as i can and dont mind buying used as long as its decent condition, i dont have a set budget but would like to spend no more than £500 ideally a hell of a lot less but i know that the more i spend the more i see. i know its not a lot of money for what you guys do but im not made of money so i cant really go over the £500 mark

id like a telescope that can give me as good a quality lunar image as i can get for my money as im fascinated with the moon and then as good an image of anything else as i can get.. id love to be able to attach a camera, especially my canon dslr, in fact attaching a camera is a big part of what id like to do... and although as a learner i probably should go without it and spending the money on a it would take it away from telescope quality i would love a goto system.. and as a real gadget freak if i could hook it upto a pc all the better... so a big list for a small budget...

so any ideas?

steve