Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Astrophotography - how to get better images?

Javert

Ok, so I'm fairly new here and, although I've been using my DSLR for a couple of years, I'm only just starting out on Astrophotography.

I've been reading through some threads on here, but still can't really work out what I need to do to get some good images of the moon and planets (I'll sort out DSO's later!).

I'm using a Sky-Watcher Explorer 200P on and EQ5 mount with my Canon 550D DSLR connected via a t-ring adapter. I believe this gives me Prime Focus (?)

But......

How do I get detailed images of, lets say for example, Jupiter? When taking a photo with the setup described above, I end up with just a little dot that, when zoomed, is a small image of Jupiter with very little detail.

Is it a case of trial and error with various ISO / Shutter speed settings, or do I have to take numerous low quality images and stack them?

Is there any way of actually imaging what I see through my eyepiece?

I'm constantly telling people how amazing things look through my telescope but am then unable to show evidence of this with poor quality images, mainly because I can't the magnification with my camera that I get with with telescope / eyepiece.

Thanks in advance for any advice or tips you can provide.

See below for a couple taken last night.

post-32384-133877724341_thumb.jpg

post-32384-133877724347_thumb.jpg

Getting any kind of detail on the planets with a DSLR on a 200P is all but impossible because of the small size of the planet. The size of the camera sensor gives you about the same field as if you were using 30x magnification. The cheapest way to image planets successfully with your scope is to get a 3x or 5x barlow and a little web cam to record avi's then use Registax to stack the frames into a composite.