NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Beginners Guide - Suggestions Please

ElijahB

Hi All,

Just started my first unit for a Degree in Astronomy and one of the projects is to write a Popular Article. I was thinking of doing something around a Beginners Guide to Astronomy. What I was thinking was that this would be a great place to get suggestions on some of the topics to cover. I'm talking the basics so I'm not going to be going too deep in to any particular subject, the aim mainly would be for a total beginner to have an idea of what all the various terminology is and equipment and give them some confidence to be able to take part in discussions that sometimes seem like double Dutch.

I was thinking along the lines of:

Types of Scopes

Working out Focal length

Terminology

Why a wedge is needed

Etc

All suggestions welcome, no matter how simple they may sound. Being a beginner myself, anything I don't understand from the suggestions will give me the perfect opportunity to find out. For the more experienced among you, try and remember back to when you first started and what you would have loved to know. Some people find it embarrassing to ask what someone is talking about or what something means because they think it's a really basic question and don't want to look to much of a "newbie" or waste peoples time (although this is not something I've found on this board, everyone is more than happy to help and no question is "too simple").

Anyway, if anyone has some suggestions I would love to hear them.

Much appreciated,

ElijahB

Hi Elijah

A good idea for this kind of thing, I would have thought.