NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

First telescope

Hi all, I am thinking in buying my first telescope as a skywatcher 200p with HEQ5 Pro SynScan TM Super Heavy-Duty Computerised GOTO Equatorial Mount so I can attach my Sony a350 or *** or CCD to it. The only reason I am thinking of going for this is because of it being 8" f5. Is it any good? Is there any other that I should have a look at it. Any advice will be welcome. :icon_salut:

Thanks Tinker, what would you suggest for other equipment I would need. I know that I need a power pack for the scope and a t mount for the camera. Is there anything else I need to get straight away so I don't buy something I don't need.

Thanks Davie, as I am new to this is it worth getting a dew cover from the start. The things I was thinking of is the basic stuff that you need to start of with...I really need to read up on essential stuff I need to buy....touch etc

The 200P is a great scope. If you go for a reflector though you'll need to buy a collimator tool, either a cheshire or a laser. I personally found a dew shield for my 200P essential and use it all the time. But I'd see how you get on without one to start with. You can either buy one ready made or make one yourself, for example, from a camping mat and a strip of self-adhesive velcro. It would work out cheaper! :icon_salut:

If you are new to this and wanting to look at astrophotography, then your best money ever spent would be this book First Light Optics - Making Every Photon Count - Steve Richards

This will help you make some very informed choices about what you want to get and may well save you ££'s in the long run as you will only buy once. I read this from cover to cover, and it really did make many things clear and is very useful to anyone thinking of AP.