NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

collimating nerves

p { margin-bottom: 0.21cm; } I am posting this here because I am a total newbie at collimating.

I have a Skywatcher 10inch Dobsonian reflector and I believe it needs collimating although I do not yet have a collimating device, cheshire or laser, just a collimating cap. When looking through the cap I can see four of the six primary mirror clips. The other two are only just out of view. That confuses me to start with because all the collimating guides including the one for my 'scope say look for three clips. So obviously that means getting all six clips visible in the secondary mirror although they are quite thin and barely visible at the edge of the mirror.

Also the primary mirror centre spot does not reflect back to align with the pinhole in the collimating cap. It is only slightly off to the side .

I presume this means both the secondary and primary mirror will need adjusting? I will be getting a cheshire before I do anything. So something to do on cloudy evenings. :)

Is your mirror centre spotted? If so I would get a laser and use that to sort out the secondary before I went anywhere near the primary. I then use a Cheshire to sort out the primary and check the accuracy.

Most common reflectors use 3 clips to hold the mirror, hence the guides talking about 3 clips, but yes you should be seeing all of the clips equally.

Let's face it, you're going to be collimating a lot for years to come, so having the right tools now is a good investment interns of money vs your time trying to get by without them.

The precision Cheshire at FLO seems to be causing a bit of a stir amongst affixianados. http://www.firstlightoptics.com/collimation/premium-cheshire-collimating-eyepiece.html

I can see four of the six primary mirror clips.