First telescope advice

Evening ladies and gents,

Can anyone point me in the direction of a good first telescope?

Im new to astronomy so bare with me and ill do my best. I recently purchased a set of celestron 15 x70 binocs and tripod and had some great evenings using them, but I think I need to get a scope to really appreciate what's out there!

I can probably go upto about £150 anymore and the mrs would kill me.

Any info would be greatly appreciated

Thanks for the help there, I did have a serious look at the dob, the thing that was putting me off was that it's not on a tripod. Sounds and looks the part tho, I had a look at a Skywatcher Skyhawk 1145P on the same site. What are your honest views on it?

Thanks again

Thanks for the help there, I did have a serious look at the dob, the thing that was putting me off was that it's not on a tripod. Sounds and looks the part tho, I had a look at a Skywatcher Skyhawk 1145P on the same site. What are your honest views on it?

Thanks again

Another vote for the 150p Dob and the 130p Heritage.

I was put off originally when picking a scope without having a tripod, but the type of mount is easy to use and you don't have to worry at first with the fiddly business of using an eq mount; which you'll have to align when you go out observing. You can upgrade the mount in the future if you so desire (although not with the 130p Heritage). With your budget it's best to start with small steps and find out what you enjoy doing. The Dobsonian design is excellent for people fresh into visual astronomy.

The 1145P is a bit small really. It doesn't have enough aperture to view faint objects and not enough focal length or resolving power for brighter objects. It's more of a kids scope.