NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Binocular tripods

Hi I posted this in EMS forum also but was hoping to get as comprehensive a response as possible.

As you may know I am new to this. I was wondering if anyone had any advice/suggestions regarding a good sturdy tripod for use with my celestron skymaster 15x70 binoculars?

Currently I am using a generic telescopic tripod intended for use with a digital camera. Whilst it is nice and light the problem I have is that if I slightly knock the tripod whilst using the binoculars it wobbles all over the place and takes time to settle before I can start viewing again.

Any suggestions on a more sturdy model that would make observing a little easier would be gratefully received :p

Thanks

Felix

Hi Felix,

I'm new tro this too, and have the same bins as you. I just ordered this tripod from FLO:

First Light Optics - Horizon 8115 2-Way Heavy Duty Tripod

It looks to be sturdy enough for the 15x70 bins, and I will certainly update here when I recieve it and try it out. I tried a light camera tripod too and it was hopeless :p

Hi

I have the same tripod that I use for bins and spotter / grab'n'go scopes including Vixen 10x70 bins and a range of 60-80mm scopes (although the tripod can accept up to 100mm). This tripod was given a 'highly recommended' award by Sky At Night magazine when they tested it a few years back and it is a good all-round piece of kit as SGL sigs will testify.

HTH!

You may also like to consider a parallelogram mount, there are designs for these to make your self, or purchase from such as Orion Telescope & Binoculars, they do have advantages over a standard tripod mount and are about as good as it gets for Astronomical work, the only draw back, as you would expect, they can be on the expensive side :)

Hi Felix,

I'm new tro this too, and have the same bins as you. I just ordered this tripod from FLO:

First Light Optics - Horizon 8115 2-Way Heavy Duty Tripod