Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Hello

Gibbo

Hello all

Just thought I would introduce myself to you guys. I am very new to astronomy and am based in the Luton area. I was wondering if there were any upcoming gatherings as I am keen to get some advice and face to face is often better than posting on a forum...lol

Thanks

Keith

• Replies 53
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Evening Gibbo,

I'm about 6 weeks ahead of you in regards of experience, got my scope back in mid october. Joined LDAS (Letchworth & District) group and have found their members to be very knowledgable and helpful.

There's a few local chaps here trying to sort out a suitable location where we can setup for an informal viewing session but its proving harder than first thought to. Not sure whats planned for the near future. Im busy every weekend up to xmas now but would be nice if we can try and sort something out over the holidays.

Hi Daz

Did you get your scope straight away or did you use binoculars first? I have just purchased some 10x50 binoculars to try and learn how to naviagte the sky before making a big investment in a telescope.

Yeah I saw the posts about trying to arrange a gathering. I did see mention of Wrest park. I have had dealigs with the estates manager at Wrest park in the past so I maybe able to have a chat to him to see if we can get access after dark.

I did buy some 10x50s and had them about a month before I got my scope (130p Skywatcher GoTo). Since then Ive had limited viewing opportunities. From my back garden it isnt ideal but Ive had some fun looking at Jupiter and trying to get some images. Apart from that Ive either not had the time come the weekends, or the weather is naff. I have been to a couple of the public viewing session that LDAS have put on over the last couple of months and found listening to some of the members explain what's up in the sky and where helped a great deal.