NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

is this guy the same ....

rory

guy who writes for" astronomy now" magazine ?

i bought a barlow from buy and sell site from a chap by the name of mr. neil english.

yesterday my wife bought me a copy off astronomy magazine ,december edition and theres an article on restoring sir patrick moore's first scope.

the reporter was of the same name. as a newbie i wouldnt know but wondered if anyone knows if its the same neil? from glasgow .

thanks, just curious :)

Hi Rory I got to go down to Sir Patrick's home last Friday to meet him and do some viewing through his 16" fuller scope if that's the one your talking about, the guy who was controlling the scope for us was a guy called John Fletcher he looks after all of Patrick's scopes and I know he was involved in restoring it and gets to do some viewing when he's there I don't know about the other guy there may well have been more then one person:)

Hi Rory I got to go down to Sir Patrick's home last Friday to meet him and do some viewing through his 16" fuller scope if that's the one your talking about, the guy who was controlling the scope for us was a guy called John Fletcher he looks after all of Patrick's scopes and I know he was involved in restoring it and gets to do some viewing when he's there I don't know about the other guy there may well have been more then one person:)

hi rob, you lucky man. meet THE man himself.

actually this article is about his first owned scope from 11 years old, a 3" f/12 refractor (broadhurst clarkson&co) brass jobby.

a guy called steve collingwood oversaw the restoration project. a very good read. they did a great job on the revamp i must say.

thanks dogfish for confirming it wasnt a coincidence.

neil english done the write up.

(p.s -neil,if you see this, the barlow arrived and thankyou. :)

hi rob, you lucky man. meet THE man himself.