Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Question about eyepiece quality and power.

I am considering getting a couple of better ep's for my scope. I realise that the ones that came supplied with the scope will have certain limitation due to the fact that the manufacturer has to hit a particular price point.

I would like to have a slightly better view of the planets and nebular (if possible). Don't know if the limitations of the scope are whats holding things back and by getting more powerful ep's I would be able to see slightly more. If I got something with a 6 element then would it potentially have the ability to have a larger image?

Being a newbie I am still finding my feet, but I still know that the more powerful an ep the smaller the FOV. With my current 9mm eyepiece I sometimes struggle as the amount of physical sky that you can see is very limited.

Also when using the tour function on my scope alot of the time when I look through the ep once the telescope has finished slewing to a particular object there is nothing there.

You would have thought that if objects in the hand controllers database are beyond the capability of the scope that they are attached to then it is pointless in the first place. Or perhaps it could be due to the light pollution where I live or it could be a combination of all these things.

Given the focal ratio on your scope the EPs you have should behave alright, without much if any imperfections.

About not seeing objects that's probably a combination of light pollution and the aperture of the scope. 5" is not much when it comes to deep sky objects. To detect all the controller objects you would need a 12"+ scope in a dark location.

The biggest improvement you could get would be by observing in a dak site and increasing aperture. Before you spend money it would be great if you could go to a close by astronomy club, take the chance to try some gear see whats possible with different combinations.

Hi Malc