Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Solar White Light - first attempt!

MjrTom

Hello all.

This is my first attempt at a bit of white light solar imaging using an ED80 with a Baader Hyperion Zoom used afocally at 20mm focal length.

This is a single frame image recorded using a Canon DSLR.

Exposure set a 1/200 second using Baader visual solar film.

I am struggling due to the field curvature of the eyepiece in relation to the film plane meaning that the centre of the disk is sharp but the edge is not. I quite like it as a very first attempt at least.

Need to decide how to adjust the colour balance so this time I have done it the easy way and just set the temperature to 10,000 Kelvin in the EOS Utility software.

I also took a 5 second video using the DSLR again set at 640x480 @ 50fps. Just need to convert it into a format that Registax can use and will try stacking the frames to see if it improves on the seeing conditions.

Comments, critique and any suggestions always welcome :D

Once you get your focussing sorted (its not far out!) you should be on your way to getting some very good results. Don't forget that at the moment the Sun is quite low in the sky and there is quite a bit of haze around so that may be having an effect on the sharpness of your image. This morning, for example, I took 100 frames and Registax only "accepted" 29 of them!

You may want to try stacking some images - the final result will be better than any single frame (unless you are extremely lucky). I take and stack JPEG's - usually 60-100 of them and get results that I'm quite pleased with :D.

I use "daylight" (the sun symbol) for my white balance - seems to work well with the Baader film. The other trick is to slightly under expose, its much easier to brighten things up in post-processing than to try and rescue an over exposed image. Hope this helps.

PS Your image is South at the top - try: http://www.solen.info/solar/ to help with orientation and spot numbers.